The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) is an independent corporation founded in 1895 as one of six regional institutional accreditors in the United States. HLC accredits degree-granting post-secondary educational institutions of higher education in the following nineteen-states: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

Since 1998, Lake Superior College (LSC) is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC), the highest level of accreditation available. As a “gatekeeper” agency recognized by the U.S. Department of Education, HLC assures that institutions comply with federal and state requirements, assess student learning, engage in institution-wide planning processes, are financially responsible, and evaluate and improve programming and services through analysis of data. LSC proudly embraces the guiding values that underlie the five a Criteria for Accreditation.

The Obligations of Membership describe HLC’s expectations regarding an institution’s participation in evaluations and other processes, communication with HLC and its constituents related to accreditation, and other aspects of the accreditation relationship (HLC website).

More information on the accreditation process is available directly from the Higher Learning Commission or by mail at:

Higher Learning Commission
230 South LaSalle Street, Suite 7-500
Chicago, Illinois 60604
(800) 621-7440

LSC’s Accreditation History:

  • Regional candidacy granted – 1996
  • Initial accreditation granted – 1998
  • Progress report on assessment required
  • Progress report accepted – 2000
  • Accepted into Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) – 2001
  • Approval to offer degrees online – 2002
  • Last Re-affirmation of accreditation – 2014-15
  • Next re-affirmation of accreditation – 2022-23