Get Involved – Join a Club!

Student_Life-ClubsLSC has more than 30 student interest and program related organizations on campus. Studies show that students who get involved in club activities have a more successful college career. Benefits of club involvement include: connecting with faculty and staff, forming friendships with other students, gaining career experience, learning leadership skills and resume building.

Want to start your own club? Just find 5 other interested students and fill out the New Student Organization Petition Form and the Club Constitution Form

Return the forms to Student Life for approval of the Student Senate and President of LSC.

Clubs and Organizations
LSC has more than 30 student interest and program related organizations on campus. Studies show that students who get involved in club activities have a more successful college career. Benefits of club membership include: connecting with faculty and staff, forming friendships with other students, gaining career experience and learning leadership skills. Students can start a new LSC club with just 6 members! Contact Heather at h.grillo@lsc.edu

  • Art Club

    Mission: To encourage further student art experiences by participation in the Empty Bowl Throw – a-Thon, art conferences and field trips to art museums.

    Contact: Cody Olander – cody.olander@lsc.edu

  • Campus Crusade for Christ (CRU)

    Mission: To support the Christian faith of students on campus through meetings and discussions.

    Contact: Heidi Bagley – h.bagley@lsc.edu

  • Choir Club

    Mission: To give students the opportunity to perform on campus and attend workshops. Activities include performances for Veteran’s Day, Student Success Day and Earth Day.

    Contact: Patty Dorn – p.dorn@lsc.edu

  • Knitting Club

    Mission: To share the enjoyment of knitting with students on campus. Past activities have included knitting scarves for orphans in Mexico.

    Contact: Theresa Hornstein – t.hornstein@lsc.edu

  • Literary League

    Mission: To foster the love of literature on campus. Past activities have included creating bookmarks and producing a newsletter.

    Contact: Bridgette Reistad – b.reistad@lsc.edu

  • Phi Theta Kappa

    Mission: To provide students with good academic standing the opportunity to become members of an honor society of two year colleges.

    Contact: Jocelyn Pihlaya – j.pihlaya@lsc.edu

  • Photo Club

    Mission: To enlighten students interested in photography through field trips and extra educational activities. Past events include a trip to the Duluth Art Institute and photographing activities on campus. Students are encouraged to showcase their work in the Student Life Center.

    Contact: Kat Ramsland – k.ramsland@lsc.edu

  • Sustainability Club

    Mission: To encourage students to actively support green issues on campus and in the community. Activities include working with the Sustainability Council to organize Earth Day events, maintaining the Miller Creek Trail and promoting sustainability.

    Contact: Kristi Heinz – k.heinz@lsc.edu

  • United Students

    Mission: To share and enjoy the cultural gifts of each student’s family heritage.

    Contact Carl Crawford – c.crawford@lsc.edu

  • Unity/GLBT

    Mission: To foster an atmosphere of acceptance of diversity in sexual orientation and to create a campus of support and respect for all GLBT students.

    Contact: Marlise Riffle – m.riffle@lsc.edu

  • Veteran’s Club

    Mission: To provide fellowship and support to all students and their families who have served in the United States Military.

    Contact: David Martin – david.martin@lsc.edu

LSC Program Related Clubs
The following student clubs/organizations serve students currently enrolled in a program specific area.

  • Auto Service Technology Club

    Mission:  To help students learn more about the auto service industry and promote the program in the surrounding community.  Club activities include Lights on for Safety, Jump Start, the LSC Auto Show and various field trips.

  • Aviation Club

    Mission:  To prepare students for careers in the aviation world through additional educational experiences such as field trips to airports.

  • Broadcasting Club

    Mission: To give students the opportunity to test their skills in the field of broadcasting through field trips and volunteer activities.
    Contact: Brandon Leno – b.leno@lsc.edu

  • Business Professionals of America Club

    Mission: To contribute to the preparation of a world-class workforce through the advancement of leadership, academics, citizenship and technological skills. BPA students win awards at the national competitions each year.
    Contact: Barb Struck – b.stuck@lsc.edu

  • Computer Technology Club

    Mission: To enhance the educational experiences of students through volunteer work on campus. Past students have donated their time to create web pages and graphics for the student life office as well as hosted gaming events.
    Contact: Anup Parajuli – a.parajuli@lsc.edu

  • Construction Electricians Club

    Mission: To give students the opportunity to hone their skills on the job. Past activities include a trip to Missouri to rebuild homes lost in a tornado.
    Contact: Randy Yranson – r.yranson@lsc.edu

  • Dental Hygiene Club

    Mission: To offer additional educational experiences to dental students on campus and in the community through volunteerism and conferences. Past events include hosting Give Kids a Smile Day for underserved children and teaching students the benefits of brushing at local elementary schools.
    Contact Cindy Upton – c.upton@lsc.edu

  • Fire Technology Club

    Mission: To educate the community on fire safety and to help students become confident personnel of the fire service through volunteerism and fundraising.
    Contact: Marty Schubitzke – m.schubitzke@lsc.edu

  • Machine Technology Skills Club

    Mission: To prepare machine tool and welding students for the job market through competition in the Skills USA program. Past students have won awards for the Styrofoam shredder and north woods fire ring.
    Contact: Max Udovich – m.udovich@lsc.edu

  • Medical Lab Technology Club

    Mission:  To explore employment opportunities in the field of Medical Lab Technology. Past activities include trips to the medical lab of the Veteran’s Hospital and the Science Museum.
    Contact: Virginia Haynes - v.haynes@lsc.edu

  • Massage Therapy Club

    Mission: To gain additional customer experiences by providing chair massages on campus.
    Contact: Dave Burson – d.burson@lsc.edu

  • Nursing Club

    Mission: To promote professional and personal growth for nursing students through volunteerism in the community and educational experiences on campus. Past activities include volunteering at Grandma’s Marathon and hosting a nursing conference on campus.
    Contact: Carleen Ronchetti – c.ronchetti@lsc.edu

  • Physical Therapist Assistant Club

    Mission: To offer additional educational experiences to physical therapist assistant students through community and campus involvement.
    Contact: Jane Worley – j.worely@lsc.edu

  • Respiratory Care Club

    Mission: To enhance the education of students through participation in the national conference and to promote health on campus through the college health fair.
    Contact: Bryan Stark – b.stark@lsc.edu

  • Surgical Technology Club

    Mission: To promote further educational experiences for students through conference attendance and community activities. Past volunteer activities include collecting eye glasses for the underserved.
    Contact: Candy Melde – c.melde@lsc.edu