To be accredited is to be recognized as meeting required standards.  In the case of educational institutions, accreditation by one of the six regional accrediting agencies authorized by the U.S. Department of Education is the highest level of accreditation available.  Accrediting agencies review the institutions they accredit to ensure that they satisfy the agency’s accreditation criteria.

S Building

Lake Superior College is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission (HLC) of the North Central Association of Colleges and Universities.  As one of the six federally recognized regional accrediting agencies, HLC accredits institutions of higher education in the following nineteen-states: Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, North Dakota, Nebraska, Ohio, Oklahoma, New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

LSC’s Accreditation History:

  • Regional candidacy granted – 1996
  • Initial accreditation granted – 1998
  • Progress report on assessment required
  • Progress report accepted – 2000
  • Accepted into Academic Quality Improvement Program (AQIP) – 2001
  • Approval to offer degrees online – 2002
  • Re-affirmation of accreditation – 2007-08
  • Next re-affirmation of accreditation – 2014-15

HLC Statement of Affiliation StatusSystems Portfolio 2013

More information on the accreditation process is available directly from the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools at or by mail at:

North Central Association of Colleges and Schools
Higher Education Commission
30 North LaSalle Street, Suite 2400
Chicago, Illinois 60602-2504
312-263-0456 or 800-621-7440